Spotlight: Hope “Hopia” Tinambacan

It’s not easy making it big in the local music industry. But through his burning passion for Original Pinoy Music and the arts, coupled with a ton of perseverance, this man has beaten the odds. In a country still enslaved by colonial mentality, this man has managed to unite local artists in advocating our very own brand of music. He is Mr. Earnest Hope Tinambacan – singer, songwriter, ultimate performer and the idol of many Dumaguetenyos and Negrenses.

Full Name: Earnest Hope Lumayag Tinambacan
Home Town: Oroquieta City, Misamis Occidental
Profession: NGO worker

What/Who inspires you to sing and compose songs? Why do you say so?
So many artists have influenced me. Every time I listen to their songs I immediately feel like writing. Good songs inspire me to write. I started writing when I was 12 or 13 with the influence of my barkadas and my papa who loves to write “balak”. When I was in first year High School my close friends were “the singers” in the batch, and our favorite hangout activities were songwriting and jamming. I also used to join songwriting competitions in the CYF, our church youth group when I was still in High School.

In terms of themes and inspirations for writing, it’s really varied: from random objects to a billboard sign, a catch phrase, personal experience or fiction when I’m in the mood for storytelling. I guess I’m just a natural storyteller. Everything I see has a story.

A photo of me as a kid nga nag sing. I think I was 8 years old or 9.

When and how did your passion for music and acting begin?
In the church, actually. My parents are both pastors and I was exposed to church music. I sing offertory solos and in the choir (until now), and I grew up learning the hymns and other gospel songs. Same with theater, coz my parents are also theater enthusiasts. As a matter of fact, I was 12 or 13 when I became part of a church-based theater group called LIYAB.

What’s your favorite genre? Why?
I don’t like this question because it’s difficult to answer. I’m not a fan of genres. I listen to good music regardless of its classification – Reggae, SKA, Folk, Jazz, Blues, RnB, Rock, Heavy Metal, Party music, World music, and even Novelty songs. The multi-genre influence is actually obvious if you get to listen to the whole HOPIA album. Lately though I’ve been listening to a lot of RnB songs (90s RnB in particular).

What are some of the challenges you hurdled when you first started out in the local music industry? Why do you say so?
I think the biggest challenge was how to encourage the local listeners to pay attention to local original songs. It wasn’t (or perhaps still isn’t) the “in” thing because talking about “local music industry”, most people in Dumaguete never had an idea about it before. There was Enchi and very few local bands creating and marketing original music, but it wasn’t a major movement. It’s still a struggle not only for me but for the entire music community in Dumaguete to be heard, accepted, and patronized by the local audience. We are gaining attention but not yet as popular as the music from Manila or Korea.

Another challenge also is how to keep the band intact, especially that we normally don’t get paid in our gigs because we don’t play a lot of cover songs. The rest of the band members also have their other bands where they can make money. I hope time will come in Dumaguete that most bar owners and audience would be willing to pay to listen to local original songs.

Poor quality, but this is in 2005 with my mom and brother after winning the Valentine Songwriting Competition.

What do your family and friends think of your compositions? What’s their usual reaction to your songs?
My mom and my brother are my greatest critiques. I listen to their comments. My mom pays attention especially to the content of my songs that’s why I’m also careful with the messages that I present. After all, we always want to make our mommas proud, right? Haha! It’s my brother who is more particular on the music aspect. He’s a professional musician, so I don’t argue with him on this part. Well, I actually do, sometimes. Haha! Then my cousins and other relatives are just always there to appreciate and boost my confidence. They are my number 1 supporters. Most of my friends just pick their favorite songs. They don’t necessarily like everything I make. But they are also my source of encouragement to just move forward and create more originals. If your music doesn’t please your friends, then can never be sure about the reaction of the outside world. Some of my friends can also be brutal with their comments, but I only pick out those that can be useful and ignore those that don’t apply to my music and go in line with my vision.

Who is the artist you look up to the most and why him/her?
In terms of songwriting skills, it would be Gary Granada. He has the most sensible songs, profound but relevant. Plus he makes excellent music. Another musician I really look up to is Joey Ayala because his songs aren’t everyone’s cup of tea, but he was able to reach the mainstream audience. His music is unique, and he never compromised his music for marketability yet he is still very popular. Another musician I look up to is, of course, THE Ely Buendia. He’s simply phenomenal. He created the perfect formula of great songwriting and radio-friendly music in order to reach the widest audience. In foreign music, Jason Mraz is another strong influence because of his play on words and phrasing, and capability as a performer. Other strong influences and inspirations are Amy Winehouse, Jeff Buckley, Corinne Bailey Rae, Chris Cornell, and James Morisson because they are amazing singer-songwriters. Their songs are touching so many people’s hearts. I also look up to great jazz singers like Nat King Cole, Ella Fitzgerald, and Al Jarreau. Among the younger pinoy pop singer-songwriters, and this may surprise many people, I am a fan of Jay-r and Kyla (the RnB royalties). In indie music, I look up to Bullet Dumas, Toto Sorioso, Up Dharma Down, SinoSikat, Kevin Roy, and many others. As much as I want to name them all, daghan ra gyud kayo sila! Haha!

With THE Ely Buendia

What advice or useful tips can you give to aspiring artists when it comes to chasing their dreams?

Always find the fine thin line between confidence and arrogance. Confidence means believing in yourself and what you think you can do but still being sensitive to the people around you: their opinions, their appreciation, their feedback, and even their indifference. Arrogance is confidence plus believing that you are better than everyone else. If you think you have the talent, show don’t tell. Always aim for excellence. When people tell you that you are good let it be an inspiration to do even better in your craft without comparing yourself to other artists. Also, be a good member of your community of musicians. Believe that you are all special and you can learn from each other. Unique musicians gathered together make a unique music community. It’s more fun when you all shine together. Lastly, there will always be detractors and even haters. Don’t argue with them. Just do your thing and be good at what you are doing (and be good to them) until they realize they actually thought wrong about you. Don’t make enemies. It won’t bring any good to your music, and it won’t bring any good to the community.

What song best represents your life? Why?
It should be My Tribute (To God Be the Glory) by Andrae Crouch. It brings me back to my roots (gospel music) and it keeps me grounded. As a matter of fact, when I was a little kid I sang this song I guess more than 20 times already. I even sang it in a radio singing competition. This song is very important to me because it is my constant reminder that my music has a greater purpose that is beyond self-gratification. As the song goes “and should I gain any praise, let it go to calvary.” I don’t have the right to take credit for all the achievements and applause coz they belong to the Creator. Ang success ibutang sa heart, dili sa ulo.

Link oh. Haha! “Andrae Crouch. My Tribute 1984.” via YouTube

Please tell us about your albums, future gigs and other projects you are currently handling.
We have an album called “HOPIA”. In Dumaguete it is available at El Amigo Restobar for 250php. It is also available on iTunes, cdbaby, Amazon, and Spotify. We are planning to work on a new Music Video but we are still conceptualizing. We will also be starting to work on new songs for the second album. Just check out our Facebook page for upcoming events because we don’t have a definite one right now.

I am also co-directing an original musical play entitled SCHARON MANI which is produced by YATTA and SU Cultural Affairs Committee in partnership with the Belltower Project. This will be in December 11, 12, and 13 at the Luce Auditorium.

 

Gallery *Photos are from Hope Tinambacan.

HOPIA’s album launch at Hayahay in December 2013.

The band with music inspiration Joey Ayala after we opened for him in a show in Bayawan City.

With the founding members of the Belltower Project (a collective of musicians in Dumaguete promoting original music)

Band photo for the album (shot in Amlan)

A precious photo with the maestro Ryan Cayabyab. This is in 2013, one year after I became part of the Elements Singing-Songwriting Camp (Batch 3). My band performed in Bacolod in the Elements promo tour. After performing 2 songs Mr. C went up on stage to congratulate me for doing a great job after the camp. He told the audience how proud he was of my band. Obvious sa smile ang happiness.

A scene from In My Father’s House, a play written by award-winning playwright Elsa Coscolluela and directed by acclaimed theater director Amiel Leonardia. This scene is with Dessa-Quesada Palm. A veteran theater actress and my mentor in YATTA (Youth Advocates Through Theater Arts)

One of the HOPIA’s earlier performances in 2013 at the Belltower Project Echo Ave.

Performance with YATTA at the Robinsons Place Dumaguete for the city fiesta.

*photos seen here were all supplied by Hope “Hopia” Tinambacan.

 


Check out more on his facebook at Earnest Hope.
To find out more about his band, Check out their facebook page: H O P I A.

2 thoughts on “Spotlight: Hope “Hopia” Tinambacan

  1. Life is so worthwhile being a singer and an artist giving emphasis of the local products yet engage on the international relation for marketing. Hope’s CDs are also bought by foreign friends like the German
    in particular. Food Trip Dumaguete thank you very much. We exported banana chips, and salabat. We also producing turmeric tea that also promote the farm products of our Provincial Agro Fair of Dumaguete. Usuakky ginger and turmeric are bought in tabo sa sidlakan. I wish you the best Hope
    and thank for being supportive of Food Trip Dumaguete journey.

    Like

Leave a comment